Homestead Finishing Products

Architectural Finishing Forum - Flow Out Additive For Oil Base Interior Enamel

david perata - Sat Feb 20, 2010 6:21 pm
Post subject: Flow Out Additive For Oil Base Interior Enamel
I paint for a living and although I don't often use oil base enamel for interior woodwork around here, I do when the customer wants a nice finish.

In the old days we used to add Penetrol for better flow out but I'm painting white and I had a friend years ago who used it to spray kitchen cabinets white and was sued because the paint yellowed.

I've been adding thinner but I'd really like something better. Would BLO yellow the enamel? Would it add a longer time to dry?

Any other ideas?
Jeff - Mon Feb 22, 2010 5:32 pm
Post subject:
I would say the issue is alkyd paints in general will yellow and your friends problem was that the interiors probably yellowed more (the parts not exposed to light). This is normal with any alkyd paint. While Penettrol contains linseed oil (maybe) I'm not sure it was entirely to blame.

If I were concerned with yellowing I wouldn't use alkyd paint to begin with, however avoid the linseed oil. I'll let Tim Leahy chime in on this to see what would work as a flow out additive.
Tim Leahy - Mon Feb 22, 2010 7:49 pm
Post subject:
David,

Jeff is right. I am currently repainting a job done 3 years ago with Benjamin Moore oil in white. We did the job then and warned the customer beforehand. Like many, she loves the old oil enamel finish, but when she redesigned her pictures on her wall and changed the swing of a closet door,she now understands. There is nothing that could be done to prevent it.